On Bloodletting & Volunteer Work

display this

When you’re sitting in your favorite cafe minding your own business and suddenly a lady giving out photocopied leaflets of what looks like a cheap bazaar or worse a shady loan offer, seriously, what would you do? I bet you would easily dismiss the lady and tell her you are no way close to interested, right?

Well, it actually happened to me just now. Minutes ago, a lady wearing this a pair of brush pants and a Dri-Fit shirt with a large print that says Volunteer Firefighter approached me boldly even if I looked like I wasn’t interested. She politely excused herself and smiled as she waited for me to turn my head to acknowledge her and take the leaflet she was giving me. I know, I know. I sounded like I’m the bitchiest person in the planet, but you can’t blame me if I get easily irritated with people who give away stuff like that. I mean, some of them would even shove it to your face and get angry if you tell them you’re not interested. But not with this one.

“Hi!” She said with a smile. “We’re volunteer firefighters and we want to invite you to our bloodletting event this coming Sunday at the Volunteer Headquarters in Philam.”

Magic words were firefighter and bloodletting. SO yeah, I took the leaflet and nodded like a weird person. (In my defense, I was in the middle of my Arrow marathon. I had a lot of episode catch-up to do, so my full introverted personality was not in hibernation. In short, I was inside my own bubble and didn’t really want to be disturbed. Haha Sorry na!) She and her partner nodded back and left me alone as soon as I got the leaflet. They went to the other tables and gave out more invitations to people. I think I wasn’t the only one who had that reaction. Several of the people in the cafe were actually studying or having a chill Friday night with their friends.

When they finally finished giving out to people, the lady firefighter walked around me and smiled again. I smiled back in admiration. It’s almost 11:30 pm and these people, who probably have families of their own, waiting for them to come home after a day’s work, are  still busy spreading the news about their project. The thought actually warmed my heart enough to flick the switch of my functional extroversion on. I politely introduced myself and told them how much I am supporting their project. She encouraged me to bring people along on Sunday and told her I’ll try my best.

Okay, I know my health is not yet 100% back to good shape. And it’s really too bad that I can’t donate blood. But hey, maybe you can! So join the Metropolitan Composite Fire and Rescue Volunteers at their Headquarters in Brgy. Philam, West Ave QC this coming Sunday, February 21, 2016. Be a Hero, Save a Life will happen from 8 am to 2 pm.

Share the gift of life this love month! Donate blood!

Let me know your thoughts

